**P.SELVAM** 

**T.G.T (S.S)** 

A.E.C.S., Anupuram

Class:X Topic: Political Parties Module: II

## **Hand out**

<u>National Political Parties</u>: Six parties are recognised as national political parties in India. Indian National Congress (INC) and Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) Are present in the entire country.

Indian National Congress ruled India from 1947 to 1977 again from 1980 to 1989, 1991 to 1996 and finally ruled from 2004 to 2014. BJP ruled India in 1996 for thirteen days, 1998 to 1999 and 1999 to 2004 they ruled. Since 2014 to till this continuing in power.

<u>Alliances</u>: Congress and some parties formed an National Progressive Alliance (NPA) and ruled India from 2004 to 2014 led by Mr Manmohan Singh. BJP and some parties formed National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and ruling the country from 2014 to till the date led by Mr. Narendra Modi. These two parties are ruling majority of the states in India.

<u>State Parties</u>: More than 700 parties have been registered with the election commission of India. Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) was the first regional party in India to catch the power in the state of Tamil Nadu. Now in most of the states the regional parties in power. Increasing regional parties led to the weakness of the national parties. This led to the formation of coalition form of governments at national level. Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh Samata Party in Bihar AIADMK in Tamil Nadu are the best examples for the regional parties.